Advisory Board


  • Luis O. Soifer, M.D., Buenos Aires


  • John E. Kellow, M.D. (Syd), St. Leonards NSW
  • Nicholas J. Talley, M.D., Ph.D., University of Newcastle, Callaghan NSW


  • Ghislain Devroede, M.D., Centre Hospitalier Universitarie, Québec


  • Peter Whorwell, M.D., Ph.D., University of South Manchester, South Manchester


  • Ami Sperber, M.D., Emeritus, Ben-Gurion University of Negev, Beer-Sheva


  • Giovanni Barbara, M.D., University of Bologna, Bologna
  • Enrico Corazziari, M.D., Universita “La Sapienza”, Rome
  • Vincenzo Stanghellini, M.D., University of Bologna, Bologna


  • Shin Fukudo, M.D., Ph.D., Tohoku University Graduate School of Medicine, Sendai


  • Max J. Schmulson, M.D., Unit of Research in Experimental Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)


  • Fernando Azpiroz, M.D., Hospital General Vall d’Hebron, Barcelona

United States


  • Lucinda A. Harris, M.D., Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale/Phoenix
  • Kevin W. Olden, M.D., St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center, Phoenix


  • Elie D. Al-Chaer, M.S., Ph.D., University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Little Rock


  • Lin Chang, M.D., UCLA School of Medicine, Los Angeles
  • Emeran A. Mayer, M.D., UCLA Division of Digestive Diseases, West Los Angeles VA Medical Center (Visit Website)
  • Bruce D. Naliboff, Ph.D., UCLA and VAGLAHS, Los Angeles
  • Brennan Spiegel, M.D., Cedars-Sinai, Los Angeles
  • Neha D. Shah, MPH, RD,CNSC, CHES, University of California, San Francisco
  • Yvette Taché, Ph.D., West Los Angeles VA Medical Center


  • Brian Lacy Ph.D., Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville
  • Joel E. Richter, M.D., University of South Florida Health, Tampa
  • Miguel Saps, M.D., University of Miami


  • Satish Rao, M.D., Ph.D., Medical College of Georgia, Augusta


  • Cheryle B. Gartley, The Simon Foundation for Continence, Wilmette
  • Darren Brenner, M.D., Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Chicago
  • Richard L. Nelson, M.D., Chicago
  • John Pandolfino, M.D., Northwestern University Medical School, Chicago


  • P. Jay Pasricha, M.D., John Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore


  • Braden Kuo, M.D., Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston
  • Anthony J. Lembo, M.D., Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital, Boston
  • Kate Scarlata, RDN, LDN, Boston


  • Emily Haller, MS, RDN, University of Michigan Medical Center, Ann Arbor
  • Shanti Eswaran, M.D., University of Michigan Medical Center, Ann Arbor
  • William D. Chey, M.D., University of Michigan Medical Center, Ann Arbor


  • Michael Camilleri, M.D., Mayo Clinic, Rochester
  • Gianrico Farrugia, M.D., Mayo Clinic, Rochester
  • Ann C. Lowry, M.D., St. Paul Colon & Rectal Surgery Associates, Edina

New York

  • Jeffrey Lackner, Psy D., University at Buffalo, Jacobs School of Medicine (SUNY)

North Carolina

  • Baharak Moshiree, M.D. UNC, Charlotte
  • Douglas A. Drossman, M.D., Drossman Gastroenterology, Chapel Hill
  • William E. Whitehead, Ph.D., UNC Functional GI Disorder Center, Chapel Hill (Visit Website)


  • John V. Campo, M.D., Columbus Children’s Hospital, Columbus
  • Carlo Di Lorenzo, M.D., The Ohio State University, Columbus
  • Ronnie Fass, M.D., Case Western University, Cleveland
  • Jack D. Wood, Ph.D., Ohio State University College of Medicine, Columbus


  • Henry P. Parkman, M.D., Temple University Hospital, Philadelphia


  • Brooks D. Cash, M.D., University of Texas McGovern Medical School, Houston
  • Richard McCallum, M.D., Texas Tech University Health Science Center, El Paso
  • Eamonn M. M. Quigley, M.D., Methodist Hospital and Weill Cornell College of Medicine, Houston


  • Gary M. Mawe, Ph.D., University of Vermont, Burlington


  • Margaret Heitkemper, Ph.D., R.N., University of Washington, Seattle
  • Rona L. Levy, Ph.D., University of Washington, Seattle


  • Reza Shaker, M.D., Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
  • Jeannette Tries, Ph.D., Aurora Women’s Pavilion, West Allis
  • Nimish Vakil, M.D., Aurora Summit Hospital, Summit
  • Arnold Wald, M.D., University of Wisconsin School of Medicine, Madison

Thank you to our former members

  • Robin Spiller, M.D., University Hospital, Nottingham
  • Paul Enck, Ph.D., Universitatsklinikum Tubingen, Tuebingen
  • Bruce A. Orkin, M.D., Rush University, Chicago
  • Adil E. Bharucha, M.D., Mayo Clinic, Rochester
  • W. Grant Thompson, M.D., Ontario
  • Colin D. Rudolph, M.D., Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee
  • Philip O. Katz, M.D., Allegheny University Hospital, Philadelphia
  • Thomas Puetz, M.D., Aurora Advanced Healthcare, Milwaukee
  • Brenda B. Toner, Ph.D., University of Toronto, Ontario
  • J. Patrick Waring, M.D., Digestive Healthcare of Georgia, Atlanta
  • Robert D. Madoff, M.D., University of Minnesota, Minneapolis
  • Philip B. Miner, M.D., Oklahoma Foundation for Digestive Research, Oklahoma City
  • Andrée Rasquin, M.D., University of Montreal, Hospital Ste Justine, Québec
  • Marcelo A. Barreiro, M.D., (Retired), Institute for Primary and Preventative Health Care, Vestal
  • Eugene Eisman, Ph.D., Milwaukee
  • Christine Norton, Ph.D., St. Mark’s Hospital, Middlesex
  • Vera Loening-Baucke, M.D., Charite Hospital/Gastroenterologie, Berlin
  • Henry Binder, M.D., Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven
  • G. Richard Locke III, M.D., Mayo Clinic, Rochester
  • Barry W. Jaffin, M.D., New York
  • John A. Coller, M.D., Lahey Clinic, Burlington
  • Paul Hyman, M.D., Children’s Hospital New Orleans, New Orleans
Share this page
Topics of this article
Was this article helpful?

IFFGD is a nonprofit education and research organization. Our mission is to inform, assist, and support people affected by gastrointestinal disorders.

Our original content is authored specifically for IFFGD readers, in response to your questions and concerns.

If you found this article helpful, please consider supporting IFFGD with a small tax-deductible donation.

Related Information
Personal Stories
Skip to content