2007 Award Recipients

These IFFGD research awards were given to active investigators who have a record of research interest in basic mechanisms or clinical aspects of functional gastrointestinal and motility disorders. The awards are intended to encourage the participation of clinicians and scientists in multidisciplinary efforts aimed at advancing the understanding of gastrointestinal disorders in adults and in children.

Peer-Review Selection Committee

  • Douglas Drossman, MD, Chair
  • Ronnie Fass, MD
  • Samuel Nurko, MD
  • Reza Shaker, MD
  • Yvette Taché, PhD
  • Jackie Wood, PhD

Basic Science is the fundamental approach to understanding how systems work. Basic research takes place in the laboratory and often involves the study of molecules and cells.

Clinical Science is the approach aimed at understanding the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders through studies involving people, usually carried out in clinical settings.


The awards were presented by Nancy Norton, President, IFFGD; Frank Hamilton, MD, Chief, Digestive Diseases Programs Branch, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases of the NIH; and Douglas Drossman, MD, Chair, IFFGD Research Awards Selection Committee.

We congratulate the 2007 IFFGD Research Award recipients for their outstanding achievements.

The 2007 award for Senior Investigator in Clinical Science went to Bruce D. Naliboff, PhD at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, Los Angeles, CA. 

Dr. Naliboff is an innovator in in the study of pain, including pain in irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).

Read Dr. Naliboff’s research summary, “Symptom Based Psychology for Functional Gastrointestinal Disorders.”

The 2007 award for Junior Investigator in Clinical Science went to Magnus Simrén, MD, PhD at Sahlgrenska University Hospital, University of Göteborg, Sweden.

Dr. Simrén’s main research areas are the causes and development of functional gastrointestinal (GI) disorders.

Read Dr. Simrén’s research summary, “Irritable Bowel Syndrome: Searching for Underlying Causes.”

The 2007 award for Junior Investigator in Clinical Science went to Brennan M. R. Spiegel, MD, MSHS at the VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System, David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA, Los Angeles, CA.

Dr. Spiegel’s current research is looking at ways to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of care for patients with IBS and dyspepsia.

Read Dr. Spiegel’s research summary, “Diagnostic Testing in Irritable Bowel Syndrome: Theory vs. Reality.”

The 2007 award for Junior Investigator in Basic Science went to Sylvie Bradesi, PhD at the David Geffen School of Medicine, UCLA, Los Angeles, CA.

Dr. Bradesi’s research has looked at molecular interactions in the spinal cord their role in chronic pain.

Read Dr. Bradesi’s research summary, “Role of the Immune System in Functional Disorders.”

The 2007 award for Senior Investigator in Pediatrics went to Paul E. Hyman, MD at Children’s Hospital at New Orleans, New Orleans, LA.

Dr. Hyman’s research has focused on pediatric GI motility disorders, chronic pain, and children’s functional GI disorders.

View Dr. Hyman’s Research Award Winner Profile.

The 2007 award for Junior Investigator in Pediatrics went to Miranda A. L. van Tilburg, PhD at the UNC Center for functional GI and Motility Disorders, Chapel Hill, NC.

Dr. van Tilburg’s research has been looking at ways to help patients and families better manage GI symptoms.

Read Dr. van Tilburg’s research summary, “Home Based Guided Imagery to Treat Pediatric Functional Abdominal Pain.”

Share this page
Topics of this article
Was this article helpful?

IFFGD is a nonprofit education and research organization. Our mission is to inform, assist, and support people affected by gastrointestinal disorders.

Our original content is authored specifically for IFFGD readers, in response to your questions and concerns.

If you found this article helpful, please consider supporting IFFGD with a small tax-deductible donation.

Related Information
Personal Stories
Skip to content